England Boss Southgate Names 26-Strong Squad

Last updated : 18 March 2021 By Three Lions

Gareth Southgate has announced the England squad for this month's World Cup qualifiers against San Marino, Albania and Poland.

26 players are included, the headlines being made by the return to the Three Lions fold of Jesse Lingard, Luke Shaw and John Stones.

All three have enjoyed a revival in fortunes at club level, Lingard after moving to West Ham United on loan and Manchester duo Shaw and Stones becoming integral members of the defensive units at United and City respectively.

Southgate admitted that injuries had promoted Lingard in his thinking with attack-minded players such as Jadon Sancho and Jack Grealish ruled out.

Football with England Three Lions Logo

Image from www.freeimages.co.uk

A close call in the striking positions has seen Ollie Watkins of Aston Villa chosen ahead of Patrick Bamford, the Leeds man said to have been 'very close' to selection.

Sam Johnstone of West Brom is among the goalkeepers in the squad with Jordan Pickford out through injury.

The full squad can be seen on the official FA website.