Southgate Shuffles Defensive Options

Last updated : 29 August 2019 By Three Lions

The England squad has been named for the upcoming Euro 2020 qualifiers with Gareth Southgate making some changes for the home double-header against Bulgaria and Kosovo.

Kyle Walker will remain on 48 caps for the present moment after the Manchester City man was left out of the party, new Manchester United full-back Aaron Wan-Bissaka and Aston Villa central defender Tyrone Mings earning first senior call-ups.

"He's an outstanding athlete and I see a lot of potential and time for growth given the number of games he's played," said Southgate of his decision to select Mings.

"Aaron adapted very well to a high-profile move with the intensity and pressure."

Kieran Trippier is named after his summer switch to Atletico Madrid.

There is a return to the England ranks for Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain after a lengthy injury absence while Chelsea midfielder Mason Mount is rewarded for a fine start to the new Premier League season.

Much is expected of Leicester City's James Maddison should he win his first cap while fellow Coventry City academy product Callum Wilson retains his place in the squad.

Goalkeepers: Tom Heaton (Aston Villa), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Burnley)

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Ben Chilwell (Leicester), Joe Gomez (Liverpool), Michael Keane (Everton), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Tyrone Mings (Aston Villa), Danny Rose (Tottenham), Kieran Trippier (Atletico Madrid), Aaron Wan-Bissaka (Manchester United)

Midfielders: Ross Barkley (Chelsea), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), James Maddison (Leicester), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Liverpool), Declan Rice (West Ham), Harry Winks (Tottenham)

Forwards: Harry Kane (Tottenham), Jesse Lingard (Manchester United), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Callum Wilson (Bournemouth)